Snow Day Pancakes


snow day pancakes topped with apple-cherry compote and blueberry greek yogurt; fried sweet plantains; coffee w/soy milk.

I woke up at 6:30 to the first of my alarms (yes, I require a number of them), looked at my phone, and saw I had an alert text from my employer notifying me that the university is closed. Snow day!! I looked out the window, turned off the other alarms, and went back to bed.

When I finally got up just before 10, I wanted pancakes. I made coffee and sat down at my computer to look at recipes. Oops – it’s now afternoon, and I just lost 3 hours to food blogs and news and checking in on friends. Now I’m running back and forth between the computer and stove, the stewed apples & cherries are cooled, and I’ve fried some plantains. It’s a snow day, so I think that counts as industrious.

The recipe below yielded chewy (somewhat dense yet pretty tender) pancakes that I enjoyed, but if you like very light pancakes it’s not for you. Between the buckwheat flour and the whole wheat flour, they were definitely hearty. I’m not a diner pancake fan, so they worked for me.

SNOW DAY PANCAKES
Adapted from About.com (I know… I was looking for something simple)
Makes 6 4″ pancakes.

Ingredients:

1/2 c buckwheat flour
1/4 c all-purpose flour
1/4 c whole wheat flour
1 1/4 t baking powder
1 1/2 T granulated sugar
1/4 t salt
1 large egg
3/4 + 2T coconut milk
1 T melted butter

Method:

* Dump all of the dry ingredients into a bowl and whisk together.
* Whisk all of the wet ingredients together in a different bowl.
* Dump the wet mixture into the dry and stir until just combined (small lumps ok).
* Cook like you cook pancakes, silly! I used a 1/4 cup measure to scoop batter.

4 thoughts on “Snow Day Pancakes

  1. Looks fantastic. Is it whipped cream on top? Like your cup, too.

    Man, I’d love to receive a snow-day-off alert text every once in a while just to enjoy long weekend-like morning hours. I also need more than one alarm clock as I can’t trust myself. :-)

    • actually, it was blueberry greek yogurt. blueberry whipped cream would have been really good though, and a little lighter!

      i actually use a cd alarm clock, my phone, and a little travel alarm clock. i am next to impossible to wake up. wish i knew how to train myself better… i just love being asleep.

  2. Just checked this to see if you’d written recently (ahem!) and cannot help but think of the irony of the snow day pancake post being revisited on the HOTTEST DAY EVER.

    • oh man, no kidding, this has got to change. stand by, i can put something up!

Leave a Reply

