Ponderosa Lemon Update

I headed back to my local bar with Lemon #3, the smallest of all of them. RC squeezed it for me on their fancypants old-timey juicer, and I got 1.5 Jack Rose cocktails out of it (had to supplement the juice with that of another lemon for the second). A Jack Rose is comprised of apple jack (apple brandy), lemon juice, and grenadine. I’ve only ever gotten one at Quarter, and I imagine it to be pretty gross elsewhere, because the grenadine would make it cloyingly sweet. However, they make theirs in house, and this difference turns what sounds like a nasty drink into something lighter – refreshing and delightful, even.

The first half of Lemon #4 has been juiced and zested – the zest went into the freezer, and most of the juice joined some rice wine vinegar, olive oil, dijon, and various other ingredients in a vinaigrette. I had some on a baby arugula salad with orange peppers, hard boiled eggs, blanched broccoli, blanched green beans, and the last of Lemon #1’s zest. I dumped a good amount into a spelt pasta salad for lunch a few days ago, and there was still some that made it into the fridge in the dijon jar.

[131/365]
carrot cake with lemon cream cheese frostingcarrot cake with lemon cream cheese frosting

The last of Lemon #1’s juice made it into a pint of rosewater lemonade (subtle, but delicious). I got a report back from D that the fate of Lemon #2 was a glut of old fashioned lemon curd… he used an old lady voice when he described making it and spreading it on toast, but apparently it was wonderful.

A wedge of the second half of Lemon #4 was used on a turkey sandwich: mendocino mustard (spicy honey mustard), arugula, sprouts, red bell pepper, cracked pepper turkey, and lemon juice. It was a quickly thrown together sandwich that was lacking something. At the very least it really could have used some tomato. The remainder of Lemon #4 was turned into lemonade (the juice) and lemon cream cheese frosting (the zest), as I recall. Man, I’m losing track, I’ll have to reference my photos. I did use up most of the lemon dijon dressing drizzled onto sandwiches and such.

Stay tuned for how I fell in love with Lemon #5, and to learn how I manage to honor the other 7 (eek!)! I’m going to have to get cracking.

3 thoughts on “Ponderosa Lemon Update

  1. Your vinaigrette sounds delish… lemon and dijon and greens are do yum. Highland Kitchen has a new appetizer on their menu of asparagus with a fried egg and some fried pork belly, drizzzled with a lovely mustardy dressing.
    Come visit so we can go out to eat?

Leave a Reply

