RIP, Gourmet

RIP, Gourmet

I was just informed that Condé Nast is dropping Gourmet after the November issue. I’m in shock… Gourmet is going, and Bon Appetit is staying?! I hate this. Media Decoder has the story.

I’m guessing this also means the demise of one of the best food shows on television, Gourmet’s Diary of a Foodie.

I really hope that Barry Estabrook finds another way to continue writing about Politics of the Plate. If you haven’t read any of his articles, check them out while you still can.

Update: it sounds like Gourmet’s Diary of a Foodie isn’t on the chopping block after all:

“Gourmet magazine will cease monthly publication, but we will remain committed to the brand, retaining Gourmet’s book publishing and television programming.” –LAObserved

No word yet on the future writings of Barry Estabrook.

5 thoughts on “RIP, Gourmet

  1. I hear you. My Dad was a subscriber to Gourmet as long as I can remember. He has his back issues in big, rubbermaid containers labeled by year. I would buy it on intermittently when the cover struck my fancy. I don’t think I am being original when I say that during the past few years, the quality of the mag suffered slightly. I blame this on what “food network culture” did to our food culture. Gourmet kind of lost its purpose, but it was still a quality rag. It will be missed.

  2. I know. They actually decided to do it about a year ago. I worked a few jobs with them and they stopped doing almost all photography last fall.
    Sucks.

Leave a Reply

