Blue Corn Muffins

20090927-10457

Somehow, before even making coffee this morning, I ended up watching Food Network. Ina Garten (of Barefoot Contessa fame) was whipping up cornbread muffins. The process was so fast, I was inspired to do it myself. Of course, she has a stand mixer and I do not, but I thought I could pull it off pretty quickly. An ingredient assessment showed that I didn’t have enough milk (but I did have a little coconut milk), my eggs were the wrong size, and I had blue cornmeal rather than regular cornmeal. I’m Captain Improv when it comes to using recipes, so these were easy subs.

Blue Corn Muffins
Adapted from Ina Garten’s Corn Muffins

Ingredients

* 3 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
* 1 cup natural cane sugar
* 1 cup blue cornmeal
* 2 tablespoons baking powder
* 1 1/2 teaspoons salt
* 3/4 cup 2% milk
* 3/4 cup So Delicious Original Coconut Milk
* 1/2 pound (two sticks) unsalted butter, melted and cooled
* 3 smallish large eggs

20090927-10425
via ice cream scoop

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

Line 17 (I know, sorry) muffin cups with paper liners (or just grease the tin with some organic vegetable oil… I only had 11 paper liners, so I did both). Dump the flour, sugar, cornmeal, baking powder, and salt into a largeish mixing bowl, and whisk with a loose whisk (meaning, lots of space between the wires – we’ll need this later) to break up any clumps. In a separate bowl, combine the milks and cooled melted butter. Crack the eggs into a cup or small bowl (I used the bowl that I nuked the butter in once it cooled), and whisk until smooth. Add the eggs to the wet mixture, and whisk until combined. Pour the wet mixture into the dry, and whisk (this is why we needed a loose whisk – it will be thick) until just blended. Use an ice cream scoop to measure the batter into the paper liners (one scoop will fill each most of the way to the top. Bake for 30 minutes, until a toothpick (or in my case, a wooden kabob skewer) comes out clean. Cool slightly and remove from the pan.

20090927-10446

I got 17 muffins out of this, but the original recipe says it makes twelve, so you may want to fill them right to the top. You’ll have to cut them apart in the end, but you’ll get bigger muffins. I prefer smaller, contained cupcake-style muffins.

20090927-10449
20090927-10433

Verdict: Pretty damned good. Very easy to make! They were a little bit crumbly, but less so after they cooled sufficiently. I was worried they’d be too sweet, but I actually think it was nice to offset the cornbread texture. Next time I’ll add a big dollop of sour cream or yogurt to the batter and see if that moistens them up even more.

20090927-10423

9 thoughts on “Blue Corn Muffins

  1. I love cornbread with passion. I would get cornmeal obviously with every intention of baking cornbread but would never get around to it! I’m just not familiar with the concept of baking, I guess.

    Also I dumped too much sugar in my caramelized apple yesterday morning only because I didn’t have coffee beforehand, so lucky you that your muffins turned out great!

    • Too much sugar is definitely no good. I have been admiring your caramelized apples of late, and how you’ve arranged them on english muffins. Do you just use butter, sugar, and apples, or something else?

      Do you steam things? I bet you could make these with the same method used here. I was considering it myself, but I need more silicone muffin cups to do that.

    • Meh – you can make anything without a mixer! Old school, pre-electricity style represent! Which reminds me, I should get around to posting about the tomato soup my brother and I made with a hand crank blender. :)

  2. Pingback: Alfredo and the best corn muffins ever at Adriene Crimson

Leave a Reply

